Protos' Musings

"In the long run men hit only what they aim at" — Thoreau

Ravindran maash – one year after

with 5 comments

I have been spending a lot of time over the last three days listening to some of the best Malayalam songs from my boyhood days — compositions of the incomparable Ravindran maash. The beauty of his compositions cannot be quite captured in words.

It was with a shock a year ago today I received the news of his death (yes, I got to know about 2 weeks after his sad demise; but then at that point of time, I was shuttling between Bangalore and Chennai on a regular basis that left me with no time whatsoever to catch up with the news). Since then, every time I listen to his composition, the sense of the loss deepens. No music director has managed to move me the way Ravindran managed time and again with his soulful compositions, and I am sure there are countless others who would be sharing this feeling.

On Saturday last, while I was doing some shopping at Spencer's with Subru, I ventured into the Music World and was looking around for the Legends pack on Ravindran. I am not sure whether it has been released yet, but I am sure that I won't mind buying it when it comes out. Instead I had to satisfy myself with Part II of Ravindra Sangeetham. Part I, as my luck would have it, was not available then.

After listening to scorchers like "Samaya Radhangalil njangal", "Mana thaaril engum", "Thenum Vayambum", "Sobhanam Mohanam Karalil amrudham choriyum gaanam", "Sa sa ri ri ga ga chodiyil unarum" and "Chiriyil njan kettu nin geetham sangeetham", I thought it was time someone rekindled his memories, whose first death anniversary passed by without any fanfare (AFAIK).

Let me conclude by pointing you out to a couple of fantastic tributes (posted more than an year ago) to the great maestro. First, a very very moving tribute by Dhool available here, and next, another gem posted here by Only Punjab.

I am yet to listen to the songs from Vadakkumnathan or the song "aalila thaaliyumaay" referred to in those tributes, but knowing Ravindran, I know what to expect when people say that they are great Ravindran songs. Here is praying that his soul may rest in peace, and wishing that I would end up having a good Ravindran collection at home.

Have a great week ahead and thanks for reading thus far.

Written by Proto

April 18, 2006 at 00:28 hrs

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No two opinions about the greatness of Ravindran mash.There has not been any composer of music in recent times to bring great music to the masses. I believe the songs”Aarrattu Kadavingal” & “Othiri Othiri Mohangal” in Vengalam are my all time favourites.

    Ramesh

    April 19, 2006 at 09:44 hrs

  2. […] Ravindran maash – one year after […]

  3. Ravindran mash is simply brilliant and can be called as the king of composers of south india.even today we can feel something,in fact,everything missing in malayalam film music

    Arun S

    August 14, 2006 at 11:32 hrs

  4. What I have noticed in his songs: There will be an Arohanam or Avarohanam in his composition. He will make it brilliant. I think that is what makes his songs outstanding.We really lost him in an early age. May his soul rest in peace.

    Augustine K.V.

    September 9, 2008 at 17:50 hrs

  5. […] Maashu – a redux Looks like this is the redux season on my blog. As I wrote twice almost three years back, no music director has managed to strike a chord with me as much as […]


Leave a Reply

